PERTURBATOR releases new single "Dethroned Under A Funeral Haze"

  Van Muylem    6 april 2021

PERTURBATOR, who recently announced the May 28 arrival of his anxiously-awaited new album Lustful Sacraments, has released a second single from the forthcoming collection, streaming "Dethroned Under a Funeral Haze" here.

"One of the slower tracks on the album. It’s about death as the great equaliser,”  explains James Kent.

News of the nine-song album arrived in early March, with a preview coming via the "Death of the Soul" video, a track Revolver magazine dubbed a “nihilistic EBM banger” and Kerrang! magazine said was “unsurprisingly ace”

Lustful Sacraments, which was written, performed, produced and mixed by Kent, represents his most mature work to date, merging the dark synthesized tones that brought Perturbator to worldwide prominence with classic post-punk, goth, and heavy techno rhythms. The album deftly weaves Perturbator’s cinematic textures with thundering drums, subtle electronic melodies and in-your-face guitar hooks. 

“It’s an album about bad habits, dissatisfaction and addiction,” adds Kent of the album that serves as a follow-up to 2016’s The Uncanny Valley“An overall look at how we, as a species, lean towards self-destruction.”

Album pre-orders, which include both a gatefold 2LP and a 2LP picture disc as well as a cassette, CD and digital release, are available here: A number of regional, limited-edition vinyl variants are also available now: Red 2LP (Europe) via various European retailers, Cream 2LP (Australia) via Nervegas, Cognac 2LP (France) via Season of Mist’s webstore, Yellow 2LP Record Store Day (U.S.A.), Orange 2LP UK retail exclusive, and a Crash Records(UK) Silver 2LP variant.

Digital pre-save:

Lustful Sacraments track list:

1. Reaching Xanadu
2. Lustful Sacraments
3. Excess
4. Secret Devotion (ft. True Body)
5. Death of the Soul
6. The Other Place
7. Dethroned Under a Funeral Haze
8. Messalina, Messalina
9. God Says (ft. Hangman’s Chair)