Liv Sin – Follow Me (Despotz Record)

  Van Muylem    7 mei 2017

Despite great success, the band Sister Sin parted ways in late 2015 after a 13 year career. Now the former singer and major force, Liv Sin, from the former band, rises from the ashes with a new band and a whole new album co-produced by longtime ACCEPT and U.D.O. member Stefan Kaufmann and U.D.O. bassist Fitty Wienhold.

The album starts with the fast exploding The Fall: real heavy metal with tiger behind the microphone! It’s spot on from the very first note and drags you into her world as you literally fall into it! The guitars and drums are really working hard to get us the best sound they can give us. I adore the roaring sound! Another blast is Hypocrite: hard and heavy like a lot of fans will absolutely love it! I hope she comes to Belgium (and yes: I only heard 3 songs from this album so far). It’s very clear that we have very experienced people here and the studio did a superb job! Let me out goes from singing to screaming with drums that explode and sharp guitars. I can see this one hitting the stage with lots of fans showing their love! What a solo (past halfway)! Black souls starts softly but explodes literally and turn into a speed metal track. It has a bit of a retro sound, the kind I adore. The backings are cool (or is it a special effect on the original vocal line?). It’s hard to stand during this fueled one! Godless utopia has the perfect live feel and will reign during the next tour! Listen to the chorus and let the guitars invade your head whilst head banging! Endless roads sounds a bit more into melancholia and reminds me a bit of Crucified Barbara (somehow). The effect on the vocals gives it something extra (powerful). I like the lyrics! Another one that starts softly but then turns into a heavy metal/rock’n roll party is Killing ourselves to live.I’m your sin is simply a new heavy metal anthem that will rock all over the world! Emperor of chaos could fit in on an album from Iron Maiden, it’s so good and comes pretty close to their style (listen to the solo)! Immortal Sin feat. Jyrki 69 (The 69 Eyes) sounds like the perfect duet: fresh and hot! For me it’s clear that they can get back in the studio and do it for a few more tracks and why not for a whole album! Last track is The Beast inside a soft ballad until it explodes and ends the album in the best way possible: rocking until silence takes over!

I really loved this one and did once again a cool discovery with a band I have never seen on stage or even reviewed (included Sister Sin)! I’m so thankful for the people around me who keep me into this great storm filled with talented people!


1. The fall

2. Hypocrite

3. Let me out

4. Black souls

5. Godless utopia

6. Endless roads

7. Killing ourselves to live

8. I’m your sin

9. Emperor of chaos

10. Immortal sin

11. The Beast inside